Owing to the coronavirus crisis, the CFJ/CFA Awards has been postponed and will now not take place on Friday 19 June, but on Friday 11 September by video instead. Winners have been selected in each category by our independent panel of judges, including Fiona Bowman, FM consultant; Richard Renouf, independent flooring consultant; John Butler, experienced flooring contractor; and Richard Catt, ceo of the CFA.
Twelve companies have signed up as sponsors for the 2020 CFJ/CFA Awards: Carpet & Flooring; F Ball & Co; Forbo; Genesis; Hanson Plywood; Interface; Karndean Designflooring; Loughton Contracts; Mapei; Shaw Contract; Spotnails; and Uzin.
The awards will be hosted on video by professional snooker player, John Parrott. In the 54-minute video, Parrott will intersperse handing out awards with performing trick shots to entertain viewers. These shots will unlock padlocks on hampers to be sent to all attendees. To book a hamper and your place at the awards, contact Stuart Bourne on
Last year saw the reinvention of our traditional awards with categories that celebrated partnerships and installations rather than singular achievements, although we retained categories such as manufacturer, distributor and apprentice of the year.
The new awards proved a resounding success, owing to several factors. First, successful installations are more exciting owing to being partnerships; second, a celebrity speaker – Eddie the Eagle in this case – was involved for the first time; and third, the winners were chosen by the aforementioned panel of judges.
The overall installation of the year went to Medifloor and Forbo Flooring Systems for their work at Deliveroo offices.
The judges said: ‘This is an inspired scheme which has used several different products and has come up with an absolutely stunning result for Medifloor, Forbo and Uzin on behalf of clients Deliveroo. The clever application on vertical and horizontal surfaces brings an imaginative twist to what is clearly an excellently executed installation.’
You can read all about this year’s finalists in our pre-awards supplement which will be published before the awards.